Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
JoshuaX  
#1 Posted : 15 February 2020 18:54:41(UTC)
JoshuaX

Hi I work in the meat industry with cutting animal and preparing them for sale. Contact with blood urine etc. Having read up on the risk I was thinking of preparing a med warding card and issuing this to workers in case they develop symptoms which could be a disease or virus.  There is a risk although low they could develop symptoms which may show as flu but be something sinister like Salmonella or Campylobacter or even worse etc. A doctor might not due a test which could confirm the virus etc.   Do you think this is a stupid idea?  Whould I be creating panic at the hospital/ doctors if it has Anthrax on the card as an example? 

Roundtuit  
#2 Posted : 15 February 2020 21:45:24(UTC)
Roundtuit

Is anthrax a real likelihood? The card idea seems reasonable as many talking to doctors may forget to mention their employment, and since we rarely see the traditional family doctor any more the practitioner may fail to draw reasonable links. But do keep it in perspective e.g. will you also list bovine TB?
thanks 2 users thanked Roundtuit for this useful post.
A Kurdziel on 17/02/2020(UTC), A Kurdziel on 17/02/2020(UTC)
Roundtuit  
#3 Posted : 15 February 2020 21:45:24(UTC)
Roundtuit

Is anthrax a real likelihood? The card idea seems reasonable as many talking to doctors may forget to mention their employment, and since we rarely see the traditional family doctor any more the practitioner may fail to draw reasonable links. But do keep it in perspective e.g. will you also list bovine TB?