Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Kim Hedges  
#1 Posted : 19 February 2020 21:28:10(UTC)
Kim Hedges

In the current news cycle there is 'news' of how the M.O.D. (Ministry of Defence) continues to fail our armed forces by opting out of the laws of the land with legal jiggery pockery. 

Now to explain my position, I am ex-forces, both regular and territorial, serving 18 years under the Queens Colours.  I have been an Army Trainer in the past and taught all the typical subjects to both recruits and candidates.  I left in 1996.  I've since worked under fire as a civilian in Northern Iraq in 2007-2009 working with U.S. Armed Forces. 

I am appalled that the M.O.D. has been allowed to get away with murder, because that's how I see it.  There should be a basic duty of care to all who work, this is how our original 1974 Act was constructed, with the idea of the betterment of British subjects. 

How many more deaths before the law removes Crown imunity?  

Ian Bell2  
#2 Posted : 19 February 2020 22:16:08(UTC)
Ian Bell2

I agree with your sentiments, but I thought Crown Immunity had been withdrawn from MOD/HM Forces quite a few years ago. 

thanks 1 user thanked Ian Bell2 for this useful post.
Kim Hedges on 19/02/2020(UTC)
Roundtuit  
#3 Posted : 19 February 2020 22:24:17(UTC)
Roundtuit

Why would the Commander in Chief bring any law to bear that laid her liable to prosecution?
Roundtuit  
#4 Posted : 19 February 2020 22:24:17(UTC)
Roundtuit

Why would the Commander in Chief bring any law to bear that laid her liable to prosecution?
Kim Hedges  
#5 Posted : 19 February 2020 22:28:49(UTC)
Kim Hedges