Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
hardworkingdude  
#1 Posted : 18 September 2020 08:32:50(UTC)
hardworkingdude

Hi all, (newbie here so take it easy). I'm just wondering what steps everyone takes after an accident aside from the accident investigation when an employee gets injured. Currently we do an accident investigation, reccommend control measures review r.a's etc all the good stuff that comes from doing an investigation.

What I would like to know is what steps you take for the employee, what accidents you refer to insurance, do you do an occupational health assessment for anyone who is injured or only those who may have ongoing restrictions. Do you refer to rehab service regardless of if you feel it may be the business' fault. etc

lisar  
#2 Posted : 18 September 2020 12:27:22(UTC)
lisar

Hi - I only give notification to our insurers if we believe the employee may claim i.e workplace gossip, or the accident is a seious one that may attract alarge value claim. The problem  is the insurers will then put a reserve against a potential claim unless it states in your policy that they won't do that. If no claim arisies in circa 6 months they will close the file. If you have a Legal Team you might want to discuss with them what the ceiling is on this for your Business. If not it is down to you to decide but any details you pass to insurers does help to make the process easier at your end if a claim does materialise.