Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
stmcvallin  
#1 Posted : 10 June 2023 21:33:16(UTC)
stmcvallin

I was steered here from theBoard of Certified Safety Professionals website as a potential prerequisite for certification. I’m semi-new to the industry (my background is primarily emergency response and environmental sustainability). But am starting with a corporation as a H&S advisor. I’d ultimately like to hold the CSP credential but at now considering joining here as well. Any advice or input into the value of joining this organization as an affiliate member would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! -Mike
peter gotch  
#2 Posted : 11 June 2023 12:06:24(UTC)
peter gotch

Hi Mike

To be honest I am a bit puzzled as to why BCSP would direct you to these forums though it is quite refreshing!

To answer your key question it would probably help if you indicate the geography in which you are working and whether your organisation works to US OSHA or some other standards.

As example, many projects in the Middle East work to OSHA, EU or UK standards as the local legislation is not particularly mature.

If you are in the US or Canada, I doubt that you would get much advantage from joining IOSH except that it affords you access to the Members' Forums as well as the Public Forums on which you have posted UNLESS, perhaps, you work for a corporation that is headquarted outside the Americas and hence which might based their policies and procedures on e.g. European standards, whilst also needing to comply with OSHA (or Canadian) legislative requirements.