Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 18 March 2001 11:26:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Helen Collins I am an OH nurse working in an industrial environment and completing my dissertation on Literacy Awareness. There is a large proportion of the adult population who have have difficulty in reading,writing and doing simple sums-about 4 in 10 adults. There are obvious health issues relating to this but I wondered if anyone had looked at this topic in relation to health and safety issues,training or quality control.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 18 March 2001 20:09:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Jim Walker Some time ago on this forum someone mentioned a FLT driver who failed an eyesight test because he couldn't pass the bit where you read a number plate at x metres. Turned out his eyesight was OK, but he did not want to admit he could'nt read. Maybe we should all be aware of such circumstances especially when doing risk assessments
Admin  
#3 Posted : 18 March 2001 23:14:00(UTC)
Admin