Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 09 July 2001 12:42:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Trudy Clements Has anyone done surveys or assessed the glazing in sheltered housing schemes? Who did these surveys? What action did you take to rectify non conforming glazing? (Film, replacement glass etc.) Can any one help with this request? p.s. I understand the requirements of the WHSWRegs.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 09 July 2001 13:41:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Annetta Maslen Trudy, I have had some past experience and we approached it as follows: 1. Project staff were trained to include glazing in the site risk assessments and to identify vulnerable locations. If the glazing was not kitemarked as safety glazing this was drawn to the attention of the property surveyor. 2. Maintenance staff also were asked to do the same when making visits to schemes. 3. We also looked at information obtained during an earlier stock condition survey. 4. According to risk rating, we either protected the glass with film or replaced with higher grade glass to conform with Management REgs standards. Another control is to provide a barrier to keep people away from contact with the glass. 5. Depending on the size of your organisation you may need to introduce a rolling programme of replacement/upgrade. /
Admin  
#3 Posted : 09 July 2001 14:59:00(UTC)
Admin