Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 08 May 2002 19:47:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Malcolm Earl
At present the company I work for allows some of its employees to wear back support belts. As a manual handling instructor I have reservations about their use in manual handling tasks. I have searched the web for information but much of it seems to be inconclusive. Does any one have positive yes or no information on their use. Or any up to date information sites on the web.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 09 May 2002 07:57:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By John D Crosby
Malcolm
I also believe that back support belts present problems however I have never been able to find a definitive answer. The HSE Air Transport Information Sheet No2 is the nearest comment I can find. This essentially says that back belts are not proven and the is no evidence as to which type should be used when. Having experimented with belts some years ago when working with brewery distribution crews my conclusion was that they actually created problems related to bad posture and encouraged bad practice. This work was carried out with union safety reps who agreed with the findings. Some years ago I noticed that workers in Florida USA where all wearing back support belts fitted with braces but two years later very few workers were wearing them. Not sure of the reasons for the drop off in use but I suspect that they were creating problems.
John C
Admin  
#3 Posted : 09 May 2002 09:01:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Chris Pollington
Hi Malcolm,