Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 24 February 2003 12:05:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Aj Saunders Hi everyone I have been working in Health and Safety for seven years now, in the role of Safety Officer/Supervisor and would like to consider myself fairly experienced, at least to some degree, and have done the usual REHIS, IOSH, FPA certificate courses All my qualifications up to this point in H&S have been nothing startling, as all my professional qualifications are in Engineering. However i have decided to make the change in career and am seeking more formal qualifications so have went for the NEBOSH Certificate, and will be enrolling at uni for the degree. Anyway, i received my result letter for the Certificate and got the result : 1-1-5. The 5 being the practical assessment with a 6 required to pass.....There is no way in hell in scraped a pass in the practical. I was wondering if anyone has any experience of the NEBOSH appeal process ? Rgds Aj Saunders
Admin  
#2 Posted : 24 February 2003 13:17:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Mole No matter how you look at it you passed, congratulations and well done. I have spoken to several people who just sat certificate course all with good sound backgrounds, and most of which also only scapped thro' the practical. It would appear that only those with minimal knowledge of practical application to safety have faired well. In other words it's the way you answered...NEBOSH speak strikes again. When will they realise that experience means a hell of a lot.
Admin  
#3 Posted : 24 February 2003 15:03:00(UTC)
Admin