Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 17 March 2003 15:38:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Kirsty Bryson I am fairly new to Health and Safety (hence the need to ask the question). In terms of training for senior management what would be a good guideline - I work for a small office based company - the MD has just completed the IOSH Managing Safely Course and discussion is now whether the other 3 board members should also complete the course - we have a total of 8 employees (this includes the directors). Am I correct in thinking that even if the MD is not in the country, as the director named as having Health and Safety responsibility he is still the person responsible should anything go wrong? I understand that people "in management or supervisory roles" should be suitably trained to enable them to supervise the health and safety of employees properly but what I am trying to establish is in a small company like ours should the IOSH course be undertaken by all at board level to enable all directors to be in a position to make decisions in the absence of the MD. Any guidance gratefully received - Kirsty
Admin  
#2 Posted : 18 March 2003 10:52:00(UTC)
Admin