Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 02 June 2003 10:04:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Bob Matthews AIIRSM Hi all, As well as being a H&S advisor I am a forklift truck instructor/examiner. My licence ran out last week and my Company still wants me to carry on FLT training, they don't seem willing to put me through a refresher course. My question is what would happen if I trained someone and they had a serious accident, would the Company be prosecuted or would I and what would be the insurance companies stand be if the injured person put a compensation claim in, could he also claim against me? Regards Bob
Admin  
#2 Posted : 02 June 2003 14:43:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Dave Wilson Scenario - An employee is required to have a FLT licence which allows them to operate the particular types of FLT specified on said licence. The instructor has no up to date qualifications to teach this. Accident happens, FLT drives into storage racking and said racking collapses and kills two employees and causes £5m worth of damage to warehouse and stock, lost revenue, lost orders, rebuild of warehouse, prosecuted by HSE and taken to Civil court for damages etc etc. Get qualified to teach @ £1k? or do the above!!!
Admin  
#3 Posted : 02 June 2003 15:16:00(UTC)
Admin