Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 02 July 2003 14:25:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Jim Walker I’m providing (FOC) H&S assistance to an Archaeology unit. Within this I want to provide them with a decent set of guidelines for excavations. However, although I can understand the theory, I’ve no experience of ‘oles. Maybe some of our construction colleagues might be able to assist me. I intend to provide CIS8 (safety in excavations) as a basic document supplimented by information gleaned from HSG185 and other sources. I have a bit of a problem with a generally accepted “rule of the thumb” that shallower than 1.2 metres no control is required. I intend to use examples from HSG185 to show why this is not necccesarily so. Another factor is than in construction excavations there is a natural attempt to remove as little material as possible i.e. narrow trenches (making burial more likely) – this isn’t an issue in my situation. I’m considering a new “rule of the thumb” – if you can look horizontally from your work position and see over the edge you are OK without supports or similar. Anyone care to comment??
Admin  
#2 Posted : 02 July 2003 15:43:00(UTC)
Admin