Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 21 November 2003 23:18:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Stuart James Gornall I have had experiences where HSE / EHO Health and Safety inspectors have given bad advice to my clients ( I am a Health and Safety Consultant) Two recent examples Food Company Advice given by EHO Your employees have been issued PPE and trained how to use it, therefore it is up to them whether they use it or not Client was gobsmacked when I advised that it was his responsibility to enforce the wearing of PPE where identified to protect against a specified risk Manufacturing Company Mezzanine floor 3 metres above ground level. Fragile wooden door is not sufficient to withstand the impact of a fall against it risk of fall of 3 metres. Employees have to open the door for loading and unloading purposes thus approaching the edge presenting a risk of falls Advice given by HSE Inspector If possible put a moveable bar up at the edge to prevent falls (employees would still however have to open door for loading and unloading purposes thus approaching edge risk of falls) HSE Inspector not particularly concerned about falls from height risk. However the same inspector was concerned about savlon in the first aid box and a chair in the office that could cause problems whilst using a computer (risk managemnt at its best me thinks !) I myself did a detailed inspection of the site and identified that the mezzanine floor required an up and over barrier type device that means that edge protection will remain in place at all times whilst loading and unloading is taking place which would ensure that employees woul