Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 07 March 2004 20:20:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Chris Harris
Following a joint venture my company now finds itself in a position as tenants in a building that has an extensive sprinkler system installed. With 400 plus staff on 4 floors engaged in call centre type activities, I was horrified to look up to see sprinklers installed on each floor.I am not a fire expert but feel alarmed at the prospect of setting off the sprinklers over thousands of pounds worth of PCs & people using them. Am I missing something obvious here? Do any of you out there experience the same situation? What can be done? In a similar vein I have to risk assess our hi tech server rooms & am looking for some accident cum incident material to scare the pants off our laid back facilities guy.
Admin  
#2 Posted : 07 March 2004 22:01:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Ian Haylett
Chris

I'm not sure why you should be horrified. The fact that your offices have sprinkler protection mean that any fire is likely to be contained and all your staff will be able to escape from the premises safely.