Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 20 April 2004 12:25:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Simon Wright
I work as a Planning Supervisor in a local authority design office with a commission for our local fire services authority. We have to design a new masonry fire training tower and associated confined spaces block and will therefore have to design in hazards to replicate a dangerous response situation. This would be in contradiction to the emphasis of the CDM Regulations where we would need to design out the hazards for a project. The training tower and confined spaces block could also be seen as a workplace for the fire fighters and fall under the requirements of the Workplace Regulations.

The fire service require hatches, steps, minimal edge protection, ledges, restricted openings, sewer-sized pipe runs etc. to re-create a call-out, plus the training sessions may also use smoke to limit visibility. Firefighting is, by its very nature, a hazardous occupation and the firefighters actually want these hazards in place to create realism during the training session and therefore reduce the probability of accidents at a real call-out due to unrealistic training scenarios.

We had a similar query some time ago when we had to pass children's play equipment as safe for use. The play equipment was technically unsafe as children could injure themselves i.e. fall from height or tumble over on the shaky bridge but the play equipment had to be a 'challenge' to the children to make it any use.