Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 18 June 2004 14:13:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By John-Mark
I am a Technical Officer (Occupational Safety) within a Local Authority Environmental Health Department. Coming into the post from a Trade Union background, I already have the TUC Certificate in Occupational Health (equivalent standard to NEBOSH Diploma Pt 1), and by way of a refresher have just taken the NEBOSH General Certificate examination (yes, it's a strange way to do things, I know). I was hoping to enrol on the Diploma in H&S Enforcement at Notts Trent University, but it has been cancelled due to poor take-up of places, so I am now at a loss as to which route to take re further professional training. I do not possess a degree, so may be a bit restricted. NEBOSH Diploma 2 is one option. Are there any others more specific to my occupation?
Admin  
#2 Posted : 18 June 2004 14:47:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Dave Dowan
Why not try the MSc route ?
Dave
Admin  
#3 Posted : 18 June 2004 15:07:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Paul Craythorne
It depends on whether you intend to stay in Local Authority. If you want to earn some real money then you will need to get into the private sector. Therefore enforcement qualifications will not be as relevant as practitioner qualifications.

You could spend a lot of time and effort on gaining qualifications in enforcement but, unless things have changed drastically, you will never be allowed to earn as much as an EHO even if you are more qualified in H&S (old school tie brigade and all that). I have been there, done that and bought the t shirt.

Paul
Admin