Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 23 July 2004 08:33:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Tony Clark I was speaking to a colleague yesterday and they mentioned about screen refresh rates of above 60Hz. Does anyone know about this and do they know what the standard is or where I can find out about the 'problem. Apparently all DSE equipment must be above a certain rate ( 55 - 90Hz?). Can anyone help or point me in the right direction regards Tony
Admin  
#2 Posted : 23 July 2004 08:52:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Sean Fraser I'm not an expert on this Tony but my understanding is that the refresh rates contribute to flicker and can be percieved consciously and sub-consciously, exacerbating general eye and body fatigue. Higher refresh rates do not have this debilitating effect. L26, the HSE guide, may have more on this but the free booklet "Working with VDUs" doesn't mention it, so I would think this is no longer a problem for modern machines - might still be a problem for older installed screens though.
Admin  
#3 Posted : 23 July 2004 10:51:00(UTC)
Admin