Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
russman  
#1 Posted : 28 June 2020 10:03:24(UTC)
russman

Hi all,

I am looking to further my qualifications on a part time basis to bolster the Diploma that I have got already.

I hold an NVQ level 5 in Occupational Health & Safety and have achieved CMIOSH status. On top of that I have just under 30 years experience in my particular field.

I'm just looking for recommendations on what is a good qualification route to choose, if at all any.

Regards

Russ

RayRay01  
#2 Posted : 29 June 2020 10:33:47(UTC)
RayRay01

Hi there Russ

I hold a level 6 Dip in H&S and am in my second year of my bachelor`s degree with a major in H&S I guess its were you want to go in the feild ? Iv come from high risk oil and gas demolition so I have demo tickets and and the like, as well as Iv work alot with asbestos so I have those removal tickets too, Its best to understand what the boys do by doing it your self, hope that makes sence :)

Ray

IOSH - Dont see New Zealand dips as relavent therfore they class us as Techs (which is bull**it)   

Edited by user 29 June 2020 10:36:58(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

russman  
#3 Posted : 30 June 2020 13:01:42(UTC)
russman

Hi Ray,

Many thanks for taking the time for your post. 

I totally agree, I've spent almost 30 years workin at height using roped access and other means. I still find myself on site doing the job, which to be honest, is what I enjoy most. Understanding the job at a 'nuts and bolts' level certainly gives you a better standing with the other techs on site from a H&S point of view.