Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
colmhackett  
#1 Posted : 10 September 2022 10:18:14(UTC)
colmhackett

I'm looking for advice from some fellow safety professionals;

I have been working in consultancy for the past four years mostly in construction also other sectors and its time now to move on.

I am considering two positions with similar salaries, one is in construction as a lead safety advisor with a growing main contractor; the second is as an HSEQ for a national utility company. The construction position would involve less travel and maybe have more support. The utilities company would give me better experience outside the construction sector.

As an aside,  in job interviews I am being knocked back because I haven't spent a significant time on one single site (I don't think this is a real benefit), the lead advisor position would overcome this, but may restrict my future career options to construction only.

Choosing between utilities and construction, Has anyone else been in a similar position? What choice did you make? and, how did it work out?

Thank you

Roundtuit  
#2 Posted : 10 September 2022 11:22:03(UTC)
Roundtuit

You could consider fewer utilities companies go bust compared to construction firms.

It is down to your health & personal circumstances when considering the travel aspect - I left one well paid but highly travelled position realising that I had missed a portion of one childs development and determined I would not do the same with the impending arrival of the second - that of course was several decades ago.

Roundtuit  
#3 Posted : 10 September 2022 11:22:03(UTC)
Roundtuit