Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
pseudonym  
#1 Posted : 12 February 2024 09:45:09(UTC)
pseudonym

Morning all,

My current employer is very keen on fitting out meeting rooms with ginormous flat screen TV monitors for training purposes and also to allow for meetings with team members and others who may be off-site and so joining remotely

Is there any generally accepted guidance for sizing these screens? Or does everyone just go with what the highstreet retailers / manufacturer's websites say?

firesafety101  
#2 Posted : 12 February 2024 11:29:20(UTC)
firesafety101

I'm no expert but having searchet the net RTINGS.com has a chart you can use to get to your answer.

I have no relationship with the company.

Roundtuit  
#3 Posted : 12 February 2024 11:52:23(UTC)
Roundtuit

https://www.which.co.uk/reviews/televisions/article/what-size-tv-should-i-buy/what-size-tv-should-i-buy-aXiiB3e0zZcW

Your research is going to find that size v distance is mainly considered for a screen being used in a domestic environment with manufacturer recommendation being for the optimal viewing by an individual and/or family.

In the "board" room main considerations are to not oversize the screen so that persons sitting to the immediate left or right struggle to view (here a wide viewing angle becomes important) and arrange furniture so that no one has their back to the screen.

Otherwise just as with projector screens in a training environment early attenders tend to sit where viewing is most comfortable for them.

thanks 6 users thanked Roundtuit for this useful post.