Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 16 December 2002 12:25:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Ian Bruce I would be grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction with a query that has fallen my way. I work as a safety advisor for a local education authority; on one of our school sites we have a live in caretaker who has a residence supplied as part of his conditions of service. These premises were constructed in the late 60's and have very large plate glass windows. The individual concerned is worried that these windows present a hazard should he fall against/through them. Clearly, this is not a workplace so I don't believe that the glazing requirements of the Workplace Regs apply, but I'm sure we owe this individual a duty of care (HASAWA)? I'm guessing that the Building Regulations apply, but know nothing about them. Can anyone provide me with some guidance, i.e. Is there specific legislation I need to be aware of? Should we replace the windows with more modern materials (laminated)? Should we film the windows? Is the onus on the tenant? Any replies will be gladly received; believe me!
Admin  
#2 Posted : 16 December 2002 15:01:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Stuart Williams Ian, I think you will find that the information you are looking for is in the Code of practice for Glazing for buildings BS 6262 Part 4 - Safety related to human impact. If you can't get hold of a copy please E mail me direct and I will forward you a copy Hope this helps, Stuart
Admin  
#3 Posted : 17 December 2002 09:42:00(UTC)
Admin