Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Admin  
#1 Posted : 12 November 2001 16:42:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Enrique Castro
I am a nurse working at an infectious diseases unit. I have got a Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety as well.
We moved to our new unit on dec 1998. The unit has got 8 negative-pressure rooms, as we look after TB patients. We use NIOSH masks as you can imagine...
The thing is that we noticed 6 months ago that the rooms didnt seem to be working, as they were expelling air instead of "sucking it". I couldnt see any officer testing the ventilation system with smoke screens, neither could I investigate whether we had sensors or alarms.
After 2 months trying to fix the ventilation system, we have been told that "someone" decided to move certain sensors we had as they were too "sensitive".

My query is: I believe there has been a breach of the Health and Safety Law, as we have not been "prevented to be exposed" to TB. Would anyone like to comment on the whole topic?

Thanks
Admin  
#2 Posted : 12 November 2001 17:32:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By John Webster
Enrique
You don't say, but are you working in the UK NHS or elsewhere?
Admin  
#3 Posted : 12 November 2001 19:48:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Kevin
I would suggest you look at case law, in particular you may find R v Board of Trustees of the Science Museum (1993) an interesting article.
Admin  
#4 Posted : 13 November 2001 08:47:00(UTC)
Admin

Posted By Lance Morgan
Enrique