Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Mlb1267  
#1 Posted : 12 April 2018 18:50:53(UTC)
Mlb1267

Hi all, I'm new to the forum so please be gentle haha, right so a little bit of background, I'm a site manager working for a large infrastructure contractor, the current project I'm working on involves the excavation and installation of 132kv cables, following issues on site regarding ground conditions the decision was made to stop works and re-evaluate our methodology to ensure we are taking the potential risk seriously and ultimately continue our works safely. After taking various things in to account we have decided to use aluminium walers and trench sheets, for our excavations going forward, the ground conditions will continue to be monitored and reviewed and if the conditions change then we may re think this approach. The trench support will follow the correct Temporary works procedures. The question I have is If we are using teams which are experienced in the using of these types of trench systems is their a requirement for training, i.e. Is there an industry standard competency for these types of works. Any help would be greatly appreciated Kind regards
Woolf13  
#2 Posted : 13 April 2018 12:29:38(UTC)
Woolf13

Yes, you should be providing training on the risks associated with such work.

If the operatives are not trained how do they know the correct temporary works/excavation controls are being followed/implemented? To ensure competence in such activities you require the correct skills, knowledge, experience and training. Experience alone is not enough.