Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Blubo  
#1 Posted : 03 December 2019 14:50:29(UTC)
Blubo

Hi All,

I'm a newbie forum member that was introduced to iosh by this post thanks.

My question is: Does anyone see issues with using Cleaners and/or Security staff as Fire Wardens/First Aiders.

They are not paid by our organisation but are keen to receive the training and keen to feel part of the community.

I can't see any issues... Can you?

Roundtuit  
#2 Posted : 03 December 2019 16:40:09(UTC)
Roundtuit

Not your employees = not your resource to train

You have no control over their attendance nor working hours at your premises - their employer could transfer them to another site leaving you devoid of any cover.

To ensure your business has the necessary cover use your own employees

thanks 2 users thanked Roundtuit for this useful post.
Blubo on 09/12/2019(UTC), Blubo on 09/12/2019(UTC)
Roundtuit  
#3 Posted : 03 December 2019 16:40:09(UTC)
Roundtuit

Not your employees = not your resource to train

You have no control over their attendance nor working hours at your premises - their employer could transfer them to another site leaving you devoid of any cover.

To ensure your business has the necessary cover use your own employees

thanks 2 users thanked Roundtuit for this useful post.
Blubo on 09/12/2019(UTC), Blubo on 09/12/2019(UTC)
hopeful  
#4 Posted : 04 December 2019 13:26:20(UTC)
hopeful