Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
hardworkingdude  
#1 Posted : 01 December 2020 11:18:38(UTC)
hardworkingdude

Hi all newbie here so take it easy. I need to do a risk assessment for an engineering firm who have engineers that will be using utility/electricians knives and armoured cable cutters. Do I need to ensure the cut gloves are strong enough to prevent cutting from the armoured cable cutter which is the biggest risk?

I'm struggling as I think it would be difficult and very impractical, however, it is a big risk. 

CptBeaky  
#2 Posted : 01 December 2020 11:30:07(UTC)
CptBeaky

Forgive my ignorance, but aren't these just like big wire cutters (almost plier like)? If so, what is the risk of an engineer putting their hand/finger into the tool and cutting? I would think very low.

As for the knives, you would need to take in account the manual dexterity needed to use the knife. Often high cut level gloves ( evel 5)restrict movement, this would mean engineers are less likely to use the gloves, and more likely to slip when wearing them. Speak to any reputable PPE supplier and they will advise you as to the best glove for your needs.

thanks 1 user thanked CptBeaky for this useful post.
hardworkingdude on 01/12/2020(UTC)
achrn  
#3 Posted : 01 December 2020 11:38:21(UTC)
achrn

Cut 5 gloves are the bane of my life.