Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
davidcampbell75  
#1 Posted : 25 January 2021 22:18:02(UTC)
davidcampbell75

After self funding and gaining the Nebosh Construction Cert over a year ago I have absolutely struggled to get my first position in Health and Safety. I have applied for numerous positions and have not managed to get near an interview yet. Some advice on how to get my foot in the door and first step on the ladder would be greatly appreciated.

I have 26 years experience in construction with some supervisory and have already started studying the Nebosh Diploma. I would be more than happy to do some voluntry work and shadow an experienced advisor to gain the valuable experience I desperately need.

wardy  
#2 Posted : 26 January 2021 16:45:24(UTC)
wardy

Usually the first opinion a prospective employer will get of you is your CV.  So, let’s start there.

CV - Your CV need to stand out amongst all the others.  Put the titles such as name, address, previous employment and qualifications etc in dark blue bold lettering.  The font needs to be bigger than the main content i.e. Headings 14 main content 11.  If you are posting your CV,  put the CV on quality paper and don’t fold it into a small envelope, use the same size envelope as the paper. 

Your experience - You should never tell lies on your CV but you can modify the truth a little i.e. if you have been a leading hand, promote yourself to foreman.  If you had 6 months experience doing something stretch this to 18 months.