Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ExDeeps  
#1 Posted : 04 June 2021 10:30:32(UTC)
ExDeeps

Hi there, not been here for a while but I have a query. The company I work for has a small commercial property management team that looks after office space etc across UK and in fact Europe for the business. This team is now also being asked to source and manage the commercial side of accomodation for various people such as graduates on training schemes, engineers supporting projects away from home. This is new and my background is very much industrial in nature.

Is there any good, simple guidance out there to ensure that the commercial team (and me, supporting them) get the duty of care bit right? Things we've considered are fire risk, legionella in empty property, grounds maintenance, but tbh I could do with some good basic guidance which I can't seem to find.

Or, if anyone does this sort of thing in a similar set up it would be useful to understand what you look at

Many Thanks,

HSSnail  
#2 Posted : 04 June 2021 14:44:22(UTC)
HSSnail

ExDeeps

im not totaly clear on what you are doing here. Are you managing the property on behalf of the owner?

Are the enginears etc paying to use this accomadation, and what is the accomodation like? self contained flats or a private bed room with shared facilities

if so then you may find this site https://www.pims.co.uk/housing-fitness-standard/ may be useful.

As you say if you own the building you will need to consider the basic maintanance issues

Or are you just renting a room somewhere for them while they visit? I think these  2 very different questions.

ExDeeps