Welcome Guest! The IOSH forums are a free resource to both members and non-members. Login or register to use them

Postings made by forum users are personal opinions. IOSH is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any of the information contained in forum postings. Please carefully consider any advice you receive.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ncann88  
#1 Posted : 03 May 2022 08:56:21(UTC)
ncann88

Good morning all, 

I work in the outdooor education sector. We are often asked for risk assessments to be provided to visiting schools, groups, companies etc. Talking to a fellow provider at the weekend, and their H&S Advisor has said they shouldn't do this and provide the following reasoning. 

If we provide you a copy of our risk assessment for x and you don't spot ssomething we may have missed, you are eequally culpable' 

I'm not entirely convinced by this.....does anyone have an opinion or eveidence suggesting this could be the case or not? 

Thanks

Nick 

A Kurdziel  
#2 Posted : 03 May 2022 09:18:17(UTC)
A Kurdziel

The legal duty to provide risk assessment is with the  employer so the business should be identifying the best person to produce the risk assessment and deciding whether it is ‘suitable and sufficient’.

So criminal culpability  is not an issue as to civil liability, you would probably only get sued if the risk assessment was very negligent.  Consultants’ bread and butter is providing  risk assessments for clients who unable(or too lazy) to provide their, but they will add disclaimers making it clear that the risk assessment is based on what the client told them, so the responsibility remains with the  business. People often copy each others risk assessments and then use in situations which they might be inappropriate and that is why simply sharing a risk assessment is not a good idea.  

thanks 1 user thanked A Kurdziel for this useful post.
ncann88 on 05/05/2022(UTC)
achrn